Past Writers

Below is a partial list of the more than 300 writers who have spoken at SVWC over the last 20 years. Click HERE  to see the whole list of presenters. It is truly extraordinary.

The Man Booker Prize winners:

Margaret Atwood, Thomas Keneally, Ian McEwan, Michael Ondaatje, and Barry Unsworth

Pulitzer Prize winners:

Liaquat Ahamed, Rick Atkinson, Dave Barry, Robert A. Caro, Michael Chabon, Timothy Egan, Doris Kearns Goodwin, Annette Gordon-Reed, David Halberstam, Oscar Hijuelos, Haynes Johnson, David Kennedy, William Kennedy, Tracy Kidder, Ted Kooser, Philip Levine, Tyler Marshall, Frank McCourt, David McCullough, W. S. Merwin, Jack Miles, Gretchen Morgenson, Joe Morgenstern, Siddhartha Mukherjee, Paul Muldoon, Caryle Murphy, Samantha Power, Anna Quindlen, Kay Ryan, Carol Shields, Jane Smiley, Mark Stevens, William Styron, Annalyn Swan, Isabel Wilkerson, and Edward O. Wilson

National Humanities Medal recipients:

Richard Brookhiser, E. L. Doctorow, and Vartan Gregorian

National Book Critics Circle Award winners:

Philip Gourevitch, Paul Hendrickson, Jonathan Lethem, Sharon Olds, Abraham Verghese, Lawrence Weschler, and Isabel Wilkerson

National Book Award winners:

Jane Kramer, Peter Matthiessen, Colum McCann, W. S. Merwin, and Robert Stone

RascalsIn 2002, Pulitzer Prize winner William Kennedy spoke at SVWC about his novel ROSCOE,  a book whose cover featured six members of Albany’s political machine. Well, sometimes SVWC writers can’t resist a good spoof. So fellow speakers David Halberstam, Frank McCourt, Dave Barry, Roger Wilkins and David McCullough linked arms in the style of Albany’s notorious politicians and dubbed themselves RASCALS.

Sun Valley Writers' Conference is a 501(c)(3) Idaho nonprofit corporation
© 2010 Sun Valley Writers' Conference   |   Copyright Notice   |   Like us on Twitter